Director’s Letter September 2016

By | September 6, 2016
Windham Coop Director's Letter

Dear Families,                                                                                                                                                 Sept. 2016

Welcome to the 2016-2107 school year.  All of the teachers are excited about their new students and getting to know the families.  Co-oping, for the parents in Nursery and Pre-K will begin the week of the 19th.  Please read the classroom co-oping guidelines, so you are familiar with your responsibilities.  Every classroom teacher will fill you in on what they want you to help with, when you arrive on your scheduled day.

Drop Off:

Just a reminder that drop off is at 8:45.  It is very important that your child arrives at this time, so he/she can get acclimated and socialize, before the circle begins at 9:00.  For some children drop offs are difficult, but rest assure that they will end quickly.  The best thing, which is very hard for a parent, is to say a quick goodbye and then hand the child over to a teacher.  In most cases, they become engaged in an activity quickly and then go on to be happy, busy children.

Contact Information:

Below is the contact information for our staff, please note that it has changed from last school year.

Office (Patti) –info@windhamcoop.org

Debbie Bois – dbois@windhamcoop.org

Pam Deveau –pdeveau@windhamcoop.org

Kendall Desrosiers – kdesrosiers@windhamcoop.org

Megan Clark – mclark@windhamcoop.org

Heather Hankus – hhankus@windhamcoop.org

Kellie Fraser – kfraser@windhamcoop.org

Lisa Storie – lstorie@windhamcoop.org

Jen Brand – jbrand@windhamcoop.org

 New Toys Rule:

We are implementing a new rule this year that toys from home must be kept at home.  The teachers have found that home toys get lost easily and cause sharing problems with the children.  Thanks for your cooperation.

Fall Fundraiser:

Our fall fundraiser will be square 1 art.  This was very successful last year and it is so fun to see the children’s artwork transformed into mugs, I phone covers, cards, magnets, ornaments, etc.  Please check out the table in the parent communication area for examples.  Your child will be doing their art creations at school, but if there is a sibling that wants to make an art example, please let Patti or I know and we can arrange a time for them to come in and do this.  We will be sending these in on Sept. 28th.

Shout Out Board:

We have a white shout out board in the main hallway, on the right as you walk in.  Please give a shout out to any staff member or parent that has done something extraordinary.

Amazon Smiles:

AmazonSmile is a simple and automatic way for you to support the Windham Cooperative Kindergrten,every time you shop, at no cost to you. When you shop at smile.amazon.com, you’ll find the exact same low prices, vast selection and convenient shopping experience as Amazon.com, with the added bonus that Amazon will donate a portion of the purchase price to the Co-op. On your first visit to AmazonSmile (smile.amazon.com), please select the Windham Cooperative Kindergarten, as your charitable organization to receive donations from eligible purchases before you begin shopping. Amazon will remember your selection, and then every eligible purchase you make at smile.amazon.com will result in a donation.

 Play Dough Recipe: (a batch for your classroom is greatly appreciated)

1 cup flour                                               1 Tbsp oil

½ cup salt                                                2 Tsp cream of tartar

1 cup boiling water                               1 Tsp flavored extract

food coloring

Mix all the ingredients together and mix.  Let sit for a few minutes and

then knead it on a smooth surface.  Keep in a plastic bag.

Maintenance Opportunities:

If you were unable to come to the Thursday parent work day, we still have

a few cleaning projects that need to be done.  Please see Patti in the office

if you would like to stay while your child is in school.  Thank You!

Estimation Cup:

If you have not gone into the office yet, we have our September estimation on the counter.  Have your child guess how many pom pom’s are in the container.  The closest number will be announced on September 30 and your child will go home with the pom pom’s.  You can guess more than once.  Good Luck!

Sincerely,

Debbie Bois

 

Share this post on...Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedIn

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.